2013 Preservation Merit Award Winners

Preservation Austin Announces the 2013 Preservation Merit Award Recipients

Join us on November 22nd for our annual Awards Luncheon as we honor our 2013 award recipients.  Charles Birnbaum, founder of the Cultural Landscape Foundation, will be our featured speaker for the event.

Preservation Austin annually presents the Preservation Awards to honor individuals and institutions for their visionary approach to preservation and commitment to maintaining Austin's architectural, cultural, and environmental heritage. By creating more recognition for outstanding preservation projects and preservationists, we in turn inspire others to carry on the important work of safeguarding Austin’s heritage.

This year's award winners are the following:

Merit Awards for Properties

Dedrick-Hamilton House & the African American Cultural Heritage Facility
912 E. 11th Street
City of Austin
for Historic Restoration and Infill

Gerhard-Schoch House
2212 Nueces Street
Catherine & George Cary
for Historic Restoration

Mize-Zuber-Hamner House
4308 Avenue F
Karen Saadeh & David Matthis
for Historic Rehabilitation

The Broken Spoke
3201 South Lamar
Annetta & James White
for Maintaining an Austin Cultural Icon

Merit Awards for Individuals or Organizations

Julian O. Read
Lifetime Achievement Award

Bill Breaux & Janine Bergin
for Craftsmanship

City of Austin Parks & Recreation Department
for Stewardship